Posted by: Thida | December 15, 2013

Corruption…Here and There

Pour la version en français, voyez ci-dessous.

I’ve been back in Canada for a few months now and one of the topics I still talk about is Honduras, especially when I meet new people. It’s only normal, I guess, and I’m not bothered by it at all (I’m more concerned about my friends who must be bored to tears of hearing my stories again and again).

I recently met a women in my Boot Camp class, at the gym, and we started talking about Honduras. She asked me:

– Is there a lot of corruption in Honduras?
– Yes, I replied. Corruption is everywhere over there, at every level of society. It’s paralyzing. But you know, we find corruption everywhere on this planet.
– It’s true. I guess it’s the same as in Quebec (Note: In the past few months – dare I say years – Canadian and Quebec news have been riddled with stories of fraud, corruption and frivolous spending by government).
– Yeah…I guess it’s the “same”. Except for the fact that in Canada, you’re not afraid to get shot because of it.
– …  [Blank stare].

I knew I said too much.

I don’t want to be the type of person who says: “Well…You know…In other countries, everything is SO MUCH WORSE than here! So you guys SHOULD really shut up about your so-called problems!”

I would immediately be banned from any social gathering or be tagged “Thida Downer” (If you are a fan of Saturday Night Live, you must know Debbie Downer! Youtube it!)

I don’t want to be patronizing. But admittedly, sometimes I slip. In this case, I couldn’t help it. I was right. You know I was.

I was looking at corruptions levels around the world and according to the 2013 Corruption Perception Index released by Transparency International, an organization present in more than 100 countries that works on raising awareness on the problems of corruption, Canada is ranked 9th over 177 countries. Meaning it is in the top 10 of the least corrupt countries in the world.

As a comparison, the United States ranked 19th place. And Honduras? 140 over 177 countries. It is the country with the worst grade on corruption in Central America.

Humm…slight difference, don’t you think?

How does this translate in Hondurans’ daily lives? I could talk about the pathetic condition of the health care system, the awful roads or the lack of confidence in the justice system, but I’d like to talk about the last presidential elections that took place on November 24th.

There was a lot of confusion when the results came out. So much so that two candidates self-proclaimed themselves as victors. However, it seemed that Juan Orlando Hernandez, leader of the right-wing National Party, had the advantage.

The Libre party, left-wing party led by Xiomara Castro – wife of ousted president Manuel Zelaya in a coup in 2009 – claimed that the election was robbed and called it a fraud.

Other election observers also documented Election Day fraud such as vote-buying, intimidation and fraudulent tally sheets.

Debates, protests and a recount followed.

This past week the Honduran Electoral Tribunal announced that Juan Orlando Hernandez won the election and that he is the new president of Honduras.

All is well that ends well, right?! Well, since the November 24th election, at least six people were assassinated, including a journalist, a candidate in the Libre Party, and an activist who was against Hernandez. 

Imagined if this happened in Canada? Nobody would leave their house!

So finishing on the conversation I had with the women in my boot camp class. She’s right. There is corruption in Canada. And we should absolutely complain about it because it is unacceptable. Because we want to see change. So we need to voice our opinion.

And we are lucky that we can voice our opinion freely and not worry about serious repercussions because, you know…in other countries, it’s SO MUCH WORSE…OK, I’m going to stop talking now!

Thida Downer, OVER AND OUT.

This photo was provided by Eustacia Molina, a Honduran lawyer and a friend of mine. This shows her inked finger indicating that she voted. Did it count?

This photo was provided by Eustacia Molina, a Honduran lawyer and a friend of mine. This shows her inked finger indicating that she voted. Did it count?

FRANÇAIS

Ça fait déjà quelques mois que je suis de retour au Québec et malgré le fait que j’essaie de me réintégrer  dans ma vie québécoise, je suis encore les nouvelles du Honduras. Je continue aussi à en parler, surtout lorsque je fais des nouvelles rencontres. (J’essaie de ne plus en parler à mes amis. Je crois qu’ils commencent à en avoir marre).

Justement, j’en parlais avec une dame dans mon cours de boot camp, au gym. Elle m’a demandé :

– C’est comment le Honduras? Il doit y avoir beaucoup de corruption, no?
– Oui, je réponds. La corruption est partout là-bas, à tous les niveaux de la société. C’est très paralysant. Mais, on retrouve la corruption partout sur notre planète.
– Mets en! C’est pareil au Québec. Il y a TELLEMENT de corruption!  (Note : il y a eu plusieurs histoires de corruption et de fraude dans les nouvelles québécoises et canadiennes ces derniers temps).
– Ouais…disons que c’est « pareil », sauf qu’ici, t’as pas peur de te faire tirer.
– …

Oups! J’ai trop dit. Elle m’a regardé avec un air gêné. J’ai l’impression qu’elle ne voudra plus me parler après.

J’essaie de faire attention avec la façon dont je parle du Honduras ou d’autres pays où j’ai voyagé. Je ne veux pas être la personne qui culpabilise les gens et les rend mal à l’aise en leur disant « Tsé, dans le pays X, c’est PIRE! Vous avez vraiment pas à vous plaindre de vos soi-disant ‘problèmes’. »

C’est un discours qui peut être condescendant et déprimant. Dans ce cas-ci, ça m’a échappé. Sauf que… J’avais raison. Et vous le savez.

Je regardais des chiffres sur la corruption à travers le monde. D’après l’Index de perception de la corruption publié par Transparency International, une organisation présente dans plus de 100 pays et qui travaille à éveiller les consciences sur les problèmes de corruption,  en 2013, le Canada est placé 9e sur 177 pays. Ce qui signifie qu’il est dans le top 10 des pays les moins corrompus sur la planète.

En comparaison, les États-Unis sont 17e . Et le Honduras? 140e sur 177 pays. C’est le pays avec la pire note en Amérique centrale.

Comment ceci se traduit dans la vie quotidienne des honduriens? Je pourrais vous parler de l’état désastreux du système de santé, des mauvaises conditions des routes ou encore du manque de confiance dans le système judiciaire. Je vous parlerai plutôt des dernières élections présidentielles qui ont eu lieu le 24 novembre.

Après la journée de vote, il y a eu beaucoup de confusion au point où deux candidats se sont auto-proclamés vainqueurs. Il semblait, par contre, que Juan Orlando Hernandez, leader du parti National, un parti de droite, avait les devants.

Le parti Libre, parti de gauche mené par Xiomara Castra, femme de l’ex-président Manuel Zelaya qui a été chassé du pays après un coup d’état en 2009, a contesté les résultats et a déclaré qu’il y eu fraude et corruption.

En fait, plusieurs observateurs électoraux avaient aussi documenté des cas de fraude lors de la journée de vote, tels que l’achat de votes, l’intimidation et des feuilles de comptage frauduleuses.

Des débats, des manifestations et un recomptage ont suivi.

Finalement, la semaine passée, le Tribunal électoral hondurien a proclamé Juan Orlando Hernandez vainqueur et président du Honduras.

Tout est bien qui finit bien, n’est-ce pas? Depuis les élections du 24 novembre à ce jour, au moins six personnes ont été assassinées, y compris un journaliste, un candidat à la mairie et un activiste. Toutes ces personnes étaient associées au parti Libre.

Imaginez si ceci se passait ici, au Canada! Il n’y aurait plus personne qui sortirait de chez eux.

Alors en terminant sur la conversation que j’ai eue avec la dame dans mon cours de boot camp. Oui, elle a raison. Il y a de la corruption ici aussi. Et oui, il faut se plaindre pour voir les choses bouger. Il faut en parler parce qu’on a de la chance de pouvoir s’exprimer sans crainte. Vous savez, dans d’autres pays c’est VRAIMENT pire et on ne pourrait pas s’exprimer librement…

Bon, je me tais. Et je vous laisse parler.


Responses

  1. Hi Thida – I loved your blog today! Yes, I guess you could say it is a downer but sometimes the truth hurts so tell it as it is.
    Cheers,
    Lynda

    • Thanks for the comment Lynda

  2. Great work Thida. You write super well. :-)

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Thanks Jak. You’re too kind

  3. So grateful that I live in Canada! =)

  4. Je te souhaite de Joyeuses Fêtes et une merveilleuse année 2014!
    Au plaisir de se voir en janvier prochain.
    Lise

    • Merci Lise! Joyeuses fêtes! xo


Leave a Reply

Categories

