Posted by: Thida | October 14, 2012

Pump Up the Volume

Sunday mornings are usually a noisy affair in San Lorenzo. Starting at 7 am we hear prayers and songs for different churches across town through speakers.

Add to that, loudspeaker announcements of fruit and vegetables (or shrimp, or water, or furniture, or whatever!) from vendors who pass through the city in their trucks.

And, since we are in a presidential election year, the tunes of political parties promoting their candidates also get added in the mix.

Did I mention the roosters, pigs and dogs? And let’s not forget, on special occasions, firecrackers that get lit starting at 4 am. Let’s just say I don’t get to sleep in much.

Living in Honduras, I realized that our tolerance to noise is a very cultural affair. It takes a little bit of time for us Canadians to get used to it.

This morning, Fabrizio (my colleague/boss/friend depending on the context) and I wanted to go kayaking in the gulf. I’ve been here over a year and I’ve never done it. To be honest, the water is not very appealing so I’ve been procrastinating on that.

We were supposed to meet at 8 am. Fab arrived at 8:45 (I think we forgot to specify which 8 am we agreed on: the real one? or the Honduran one?).

As we were walking towards the waterfront, I heard another noise which didn’t sound familiar. Drums? Trumpets? Xylophones? What?! Fab tells me there’s a marching band competition between different high schools in the area.

Guerra? This isn’t a competition people! It’s war!

So like a kid with ADD, or someone who’s trying to find an excuse to not go kayaking, I completely switch gears and suggest we go check that out instead. Hah! There’ll be another time for kayaking!

Marching towards the stadium where the competition will take place

In the stadium. This is the preppy gang.

And as if I didn’t have enough sound stimulation for a day, after the competition, I went to the market to get myself a punta music CD. Punta is a type of Honduran music and dance, specifically Garifuna, an ethnic group who live in the North of Honduras, on the Caribbean Coast. Yo! come on move this!


Responses

  1. Très intéressant ton analyse de notre tolérance culturelle au bruit! Ici, on n’a même pas le droit de passer la tondeuse le dimanche! ;) Tu vas trouver cela drôlement silencieux à ton retour!!

    • En effet! Je pense ca va être un autre choc culturel à mon retour au Québec!

  2. You are so funny Thida. I look forward to hearing about the kayaking once you get around to it! ;)

    • Hey Lisa! Thanks for the comment. Ok, there’s some pressure now for me to go kayaking! I’ll go! I promise! :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

