Posted by: Thida | August 28, 2011

I Am a Computerholic – Part Deux

(La version en français est ci-dessous)

Many of you might remember that I had computer problems not too long ago – actually my computer was fine, it was my charger that died. Well, my computer played tricks on me again. I could turn on my laptop but the desktop wouldn’t load.

Of course, graceful as I am, I started to panic. I won’t share the exact words that popped into my head at that point. I’m trying to keep this blog suitable for all audiences!

Luckily, Mathieu, Caroline’s partner, is very computer savvy (Caroline is an international volunteer with Oxfam-Québec working in environment and climate change). In less than half an hour he was able to fix my computer.

Apparently it was something about Windows doing something, something. Heck! What do I know about computers? The only thing I know is turn on, type, click, turn off.

So far Mathieu was able to fix Lizzette’s and Simon’s computer. And now mine! I owe him a drink or two!

I’m telling you this whole computer business is driving me crazy and is making me feel really insecure. I remember what an ex-colleague of mine (Hi Mark!) told me after my first computer crisis: “You know…It’s not a bad idea to have one or two backup computers!” It sounds like a pretty good idea right about now!

———————

FRANÇAIS

Plusieurs d’entre vous se souviennent que j’ai un petit problème d’ordinateur récemment. En fait, c’était mon chargeur qui était kaput, mon ordinateur était ok. Voilà que mon ordi a fait des siennes encore une fois cette semaine. J’arrivais à l’allumer, mais mon bureau ne voulait pas apparaître.

Évidemment, j’ai commencé à paniquer…encore! Je ne partagerai pas les mots exacts qui sont passés dans ma tête. J’essaie de maintenir un minimum de classe sur mon blog!

Une chance que Mathieu, le conjoint de Caroline, est très bon avec les ordinateurs (Caroline est une coopérante volontaire en environnement et en changement climatique pour Oxfam-Québec). Il a réussi à régler le problème en moins d’une demi-heure!

Le problème avait rapport avec Windows qui a fait machin truc chose. Qu’en sais-je des ordinateurs?! Tout ce que je sais faire c’est : allumer l’appareil, taper, cliquer, éteindre!

Jusqu’à maintenant, Mathieu a réussi à arranger l’ordi de Lizzette et celui de Simon. Et maintenant le mien! Je lui dois une bière ou deux!

Toutes ces histoires avec mon ordi commencent à me rendre folle! Je me souviens d’un conseil qu’un ancien collègue m’avait donné  (Hi Mark!) : « Tsé…Ce n’est pas une mauvaise idée d’avoir un ou deux ordinateurs de secours! ». L’idée ne paraît pas si mal maintenant!


Leave a Reply

Categories

