Posted by: Thida | June 30, 2011

Consejera en salud y nutrición – What I will do

On our way to the village where the project will take place

¡Hola todos!  (If you prefer reading in English, scroll down for the English version)

Je sais, je sais, je n’écris pas beaucoup ces jours-ci. Les journées sont assez longues au bureau et les fins de semaines sont TRÈS remplies! (je vous reparlerai des weekends dans un autre billet).

J’ai maintenant passé presque deux semaines au bureau. Je crois que je peux maintenant vous donner plus de détails sur mon mandat de travail.

Ces jours-ci, je lis beaucoup de documents de toutes sortes, j’ai assisté à quelques réunions d’équipe, je suis même allée faire une visite sur le terrain. Et tout ça en espagnol! Donc, à la fin de la journée, mon cerveau est mort et le soir, j’ai juste assez d’énergie pour regarder la télé avant d’aller me coucher à 21h. En passant, mon poste favori est Utilisima, un genre de Canal Vie latino. Aussi, je regarde assez souvent Law & Order en anglais avec sous-titre espagnol. On peut toujours compter sur une émission de La Ley & el Orden tous les soirs!

Bon, petite digression! Mon mandat de travail…

Je crois que vous savez déjà que je travaille sur un projet en sécurité alimentaire dans le Sud du Honduras. Qu’est-ce que la sécurité alimentaire? La sécurité alimentaire existe lorsque tous les êtres humains ont, à tout moment, la possibilité physique, sociale et économique de se procurer une nourriture suffisante, saine et nutritive leur permettant de satisfaire leurs besoins et préférences alimentaires pour mener une vie saine et active. (Source:  Comité de la sécurité alimentaire mondiale de l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture , FAO)

Ensuite, il faut préciser qu’Oxfam-Québec est déjà dans le Sud du pays depuis quelques années. Le projet de sécurité alimentaire en place met l’accent surtout sur l’accès à l’eau et sur l’amélioration des pratiques agricoles des petits producteurs. Cependant, pour le moment, il n’y a pas de composante nutritionnelle ou de santé.

Voici donc mon entrée sur scène. On va élaborer une stratégie alimentaire et nutritionnelle en ciblant les populations à risque de malnutrition de quelques communautés, tout en travaillant de façon très étroite avec les  intervenants locaux (centre de santé, groupes communautaires). Mon but est donc de renforcer les capacités des intervenants locaux en matière de nutrition et aussi de mesurer l’impact nutritionnelle de nos actions. Si ça fonctionne bien, ce projet pourrait être un modèle et être appliqué à plus grande échelle. Tout est à bâtir et c’est un très beau défi!

Alors voilà pour le moment! Je ne veux pas vous assommer avec trop de détails, mais j’espère que ça vous donne une p’tite idée de mon travail. Je vous ferai des mises à jour.

Et vous? Quoi de neuf? Vous avez des nouvelles de moi, mais moi, je ne reçois que des bribes. Envoyer moi un courriel quand vous pouvez!

Un abrazo

Pigs quenching their thirst

————————-

ENGLISH

Hello everyone!

I know, I know. I haven’t been writing much. Work days are pretty long and weekends are fully booked (more about my fun weekends in an upcoming post).

I have now been working for almost two weeks in the office and I think I can now share with you a little more about my mandate.

These days I’ve been doing a lot of reading of all sorts of reports, attending a few meetings, even went for a visit in one of the villages. All this in Spanish. Which explains why at the end of the day, my brain is dead and all I can do is watch TV before going to be bed at 9 pm. By the way, my favourite channel is Utilisima, similar to the Food Network but latino. If I really can’t hear Spanish anymore, than I watch an episode of Law & Order, in English with Spanish subtitles. There’s enough La Ley & el Orden for everyday of the week!

But I digress! Back to my work…

First, I think you are all aware that I will be working on a food security project in Southern Honduras. What is food security: Food security exists when all people, at all times, have physical, social and economic access to sufficient safe and nutritious food that meets their dietary needs and food preferences for an active and healthy life.  (Committee on World Food Security of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations – FAO)

Second, Oxfam-Québec has been working here for a few years focusing mainly on access to water and trying to improve agricultural practices of  small producers. However, there isn’t any health or nutrition component in the program.

This is my cue. We are going to elaborate a nutrition strategy, a pilot project, targeting vulnerable populations at risk of malnutrition. I’m going to work very closely with local health professionals and community leaders. My goal is also to build or reinforce local capacity with regard to nutrition programs. If all goes well, this pilot project could be implemented at a larger scale. Everything needs to be developed. It’s a great challenge!

So, that pretty much sums it up. I don’t want to overwhelm you with lots of details and hopefully this will give you a little idea of what I’m going to do here. I will give you updates as the project develops.

So what’s up with you guys? You get news from me but I don’t hear much about you. I’d love to get an update via e-mail when you can.

Nos vemos!


Responses

  1. Salut la curieuse ! Je voulais savoir comment tu as appris l’espagnol avant de partir. As-tu fait un blitz lorsque tu as su que tu partais? Je dois l’apprendre aussi pour un nouveau projet et j’explore les avenues.
    À suivre…
    Geneviève

    • Salut Geneviève! Oui, j’ai fait un blitz avant de partir avec une prof dans des cours privés. J’ai lu beaucoup aussi et j’écoutais des programmes (télé, film, podcast) en espagnol. Laisse-moi savoir si tu as besoin le nom d’une prof, je pourrais t’envoyer ses coordonnées par courriel.
      xox

  2. Hi Thida,
    OK so I want to hear about the social life so get to that update soon! Weather across Canada is wet and cold so you are not missing summer in Canada. It seems to not be coming.We are looking forward to our month in Prince Edward Is. We have reunions, birthday parties, a christening, family dinners, hopefully mixed in with great sunny days on the white sandy beaches. This year we rented a cabin on the beach and all of us will be together (husband-2 kids) for at least 5 days in one place. A first in a decade! OK- now that I think about it maybe it will be challenging by times. We better get sun so we don’t drive each other crazy cooped up in a little cabin.
    Work is nuts but I don’t want to get into that….

    • Hi Janice! Great to hear from you! sounds like you have a fun (and intense!) vacation planned ahead. I will give an update of my social life in my next post!

  3. Hi Thida,

    It is wonderful to hear from you! Thanks for sharing more about your work and your life. Here we have recently lived through a surprise birthday party for Paul (and he was surprised – so that was great) and Veronica had her graduation and convocation on Monday and Tuesday of this week. Those were all big milestones for us. I’m off on a week of vacation shortly and then Veronica and I are going to Bulgaria as part of her international dance festival. I have no idea what that trip will be like – but like you, I’m ready for an adventure. I’ll look forward to more stories when you have time and I’ll send along one or two from our travels too, when i get back. Take care and thank you for writing – I missed you so much this year at conference! Corinne

    • Hi Corinne! So great to hear from you! Looks like you are going to have a nice vacation! Can’t wait to hear all about it! I thought about you guys too during Conference. I’m sure it was a success as always!

  4. I would love to hear all the details about your work project. You are living the dream job of many dietitians! Honduras is very lucky to have you spearheading this important endeavor. I will enjoy living vicariously through your experiences! Don’t forget to celebrate Canada Day tomorrow! :P

    • Thanks Claude for the very nice comments! I will try to provide more info soon. Right now we’re still in the planning phase so that’s all I can share for now. Happy Canada Day to you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

