Posted by: Thida | June 15, 2011

Días hondureños

¡Hola! (for my English speaking friends, scroll down for the English version)

Ça fait presque 4 semaines que je suis au Honduras et je crois que mes premières semaines d’intégration se déroulent bien. Il ne me reste qu’un cours d’espagnol. Ce n’est toujours pas facile de parler espagnol, mais au moins ma compréhension s’est améliorée. Ma prof d’espagnol, qui est  géniale soit dit en passant, m’amène partout dans la ville. On sort souvent au marché ou dans les magasins et j’essaie d’enrichir mon vocabulaire dans des situations de tous les jours.

J’ai commencé à travailler au bureau d’Oxfam-Québec à temps partiel. J’essaie de lire un document qui explique le programme d’Oxfam-Québec au Honduras. Le document est en espagnol avec des supers mots techniques sur l’agriculture, le partenariat, la sécurité alimentaire et l’accès à l’eau. Tous des mots qu’on ne trouve pas dans le dictionnaire. Au secours!

Je passe souvent du temps au marché pour m’acheter toutes sortes de fruits, légumes et crevettes (San Lorenzo est renommée pour ses crevettes). 1 lb coûte 35 lempiras= environ 1,50$.

Dimanche dernier, croyez-le ou non, j’ai assisté à la messe! Oui, la religion a une très grande place dans la culture d’ici. Je n’ai jamais vu une église aussi remplie!

À quelques occasions, je vais manger chez une famille hondurienne. Cette famille accueille deux stagiaires du Canada qui sont actuellement en immersion. Quelle famille sympatique et généreuse! Hier, j’ai été invitée pour le lunch et au menu:  una sopa de torta y de pescado seco (une soupe avec un genre de pain fait de farine de maïs et poisson séché). Un plat qui est normalement servi dans la Semana Santa (Pâques) !Muy rico!

Lundi soir, j’ai regardé mon premier match de  futbol (soccer) avec des coopérants canadiens. Honduras vs Jamaique. Honduras a perdu 1 à 0. Il me semble que j’ai entendu toute la ville pleuré!

——————————–

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

ENGLISH

It has been almost four weeks now that I’m in Honduras. I think my first few weeks of immersion in the country are going well. I have 1 Spanish class left. It’s still a little difficult to express myself in Spanish but at least it’s a little easier to understand people.  My Spanish teacher, who is great by the way, brings me everywhere in the city so I try to enrich my vocabulary and to practice Spanish in real life situations.

I started to work part-time in Oxfam-Québec’s offices. I’m reading a report that summarizes Oxfam-Québec’s program in Honduras. The report is in Spanish with great technical words on agriculture, partnership, food security and access to water. All words that I can’t find in a dictionary. Help!

I spend a bit of time at the market to get some fruits, veggies and shrimp (San Lorenzo is known for its shrimps). Shrimps are really cheap here: 35 lempiras for 1 lb, so about $1.50 per pound.

Last Sunday I went to church. Yes, you heard right: church! Religion is a HUGE part of the culture here. I’ve never seen a church so full!

I also had lunch a few times at the house of a Honduran family who is welcoming a couple of interns from Canada. What a great family! Generous and kind! Yesterday I was invited for lunch and on the menu:  una sopa de torta y pescado seco (a soup with corn flour bread and dry fish). It’s a typical Honduran plate which is usually served during Semana Santa (Easter). !Muy rico!

Monday evening, I watched the fútbol (soccer) game with some Canadian friends. Honduras vs Jamaica. Honduras lost 1-0. I think I heard the whole city cry!


Responses

  1. Sounds so great!! We just caught up and will be here waiting for the next updates. Looks so beautiful! Lots of love to you…

    • Thanks Jackie! I hope all is well with you and Charles. Lots of love to you both! xox

  2. hey thidacipalpa ! be careful with those shrimps, u could get an allergy


Leave a Reply

Categories

