Posted by: Thida | May 31, 2011

Semaine 1 / Week 1 ¿Qué?

¡Hola todos! (for my English speaking friends, scroll down to read the English version)

D’abord, merci à tous pour vos commentaires! C’est très gentil. Je n’ai pas eu le temps de répondre à tous vos messages de façon individuelle, mais je les ai tous lus avec attention.

Ça fait plus d’une semaine que je suis au Honduras et je voulais vous présenter un résumé de mon intégration ici

La météo. La chaleur (environ 35 C), l’humidité, la pluie (des orages, courts et puissants). C’est la saison des pluies, invierno.

La langue. ¿Perdón? No entiendo. Más despacio por favor.  Apparemment, mon espagnol n’est pas si mal. C’est ce que les gens me disent.  Je crois plutôt qu’ils sont trop gentils et polis pour me dire le contraire, mais un compliment ne se refuse pas! Moi, je n’arrive pas toujours à saisir. Ça parle vite! En écoutant les honduriens, c’est comme une phrase sans fin avec tous les mots collés ensemble.

Et ça commence !  Tournée du bureau, rencontre avec les futurs collègues, discussion sur le programme d’Oxfam-Québec au Honduras, meilleure connaissance sur la situation politique du pays, règles de sécurité, consignes d’hygiène et relatives à la santé. Quoi faire. Quoi ne pas faire. Ma tête est pleine!

Devenir résidente de San Lorenzo. Visite de 3 appartements : le 1er est très (trop) grand, beau, pas de clim.; le 2e est très petit et sale; le 3e est juste assez grand et avec clim. Mon choix : le numéro 3! En ce moment, je reste à l’hôtel. J’ai donc hâte de déménager et d’avoir enfin mon “chez moi”.  J’ai aussi ouvert  un compte de banque avec l’aide d’un hondurien (heureusement!). Ça pris 2 heures!  Je trouvais ça long, mais ma sœur qui vit  au Chili dit que ça lui a pris 3 semaines. Alors, j’arrête officiellement de me plaindre!

Semaine 2. Je viens de commencer  mes cours d’immersion en espagnol.  Mon but : ne plus avoir cette expression de confusion totale sur mon visage lorsque quelqu’un me parle en espagnol. Ça va venir!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

———-

ENGLISH

Hi everyone! First I wanted to thank you all for your wonderful comments! I wasn’t able to respond to each message individually but I read all of them with lots of interest!

I’ve been in Honduras for over a week now so here’s a short summary of my integration here:

The weather. Heat (about 35 C), humidity, rain (storms, short but powerful). It’s rainy season here. Invierno

Language. ¿Perdón? No entiendo. Más despacio por favor.  Apparently my Spanish is not so bad. That’s what the locals are telling me.  I think they are just too nice and polite to say otherwise, but hey! I’ll take it! For me, it’s sometimes very hard to understand. When I hear Hondurans speak, it’s like a never ending sentence with all the words stuck together. I should get the hang of it soon.

And it’s a GO! Visiting  the office, meeting my new colleagues, learning about Oxfam-Québec’s program in Honduras, better understanding the country’s political situation, knowing all the safety rules and health recommendations. What to do. What not to do. My head is about to explode!

Becoming a resident of San Lorenzo. I visited three apartments. Number 1:  very (too) big and beautiful, with no AC. Number 2:  small and not so clean. Number 3: just big enough with AC. My choice is number 3! I’m currently staying in a hotel so I can’t wait to move in my new place! I also opened a bank account which took about two hours. Luckily I was with a Honduran which facilitated the process. I thought it took ridiculously long but my sister who lives in Chile told me it took her three weeks to open a bank account. I have now officially stopped complaining!

Week 2. I’ve just started my Spanish immersion classes. My goal is to no longer have that confused face with a big question mark on my forehand when someone speaks to me in Spanish! I’ll get there!


Responses

  1. Love ur starting story :) i am glad that you arrive safely and start to adapt to the place… ” fighting” to learn their language i know you can do, since you almost realise all your dream on your list, so their is nothing you can not do, i really admire you !!!!! Take some picture and post them i want to see what you are experience.

    Kisses xx,
    Khanh

    • Thanks for the encouragement Khanh! xox

  2. C’est merveilleux de vivre cette aventure avec toi ! Hâte de voir notre appartement !

    Suzanne XXX

    • Merci Suzanne! Je vous montre mon apt dès que possible! xo

  3. “¿Perdón? No entiendo. Más despacio por favor.” That’s good. In my first few months in Chile, I would often just nod and smile, haha! You know it’s not the right thing to do when the person just stares back with an odd look on their face :D

    • I know! I stopped noding and smiling because it would just get me in trouble!

  4. my version of my first language attempt: they taught us how to say “ting bu dong” which means I dont understand chinese………and, well Thida, you remember right…….chinese people dont understand that concept, and just continue speaking………..It took me 8 months of learning chinese to be able to have basic conversation…….I am so envious that in 8 months, your spanish will be sooooooo gooooooooddddddddddd !
    good blog, write more

    • Yah, we’ll see how good my spanish is in 8 months!

  5. C’est super d’avoir de tes nouvelles et j’adore le format de ton blog qui est à la fois structuré et amusant. Totally YOU! Marianne XXX

    • Merci pour le commentaire Marianne! c’est très gentil et ça m’encourage :) Bisous xox

  6. Bonne 2e semaine Thida! Contente de voir que tout semble bien débuter pour toi. Montre-nous ton environnement avec des photos ! :-)


Leave a Reply

Categories

