Posted by: Thida | May 28, 2011

Welcome to my blog! And some Q &As

Hello everyone! Welcome to my new blog. As many of you may already know, I am currently working abroad. I landed in Honduras on May 23, 2011. Before I go further into details about my life here,  I thought it might be useful to answer some Q&As.

Q. Where are you? Why are you there? For how long will you be gone?

A. I’m in Honduras, in a small city near the Pacific Coast called San Lorenzo. I am here with Oxfam-Québec to work with local partners in health community and nutrition.  I am here for a little less than two years. So I should be back in Canada in January 2013.

Q. Why do you decide to do this?

A. It’s been a dream of mine to work abroad and I’ve been thinking about it more seriously since summer 2010. When this opportunity came around, I couldn’t say no. How could I? It was with Oxfam Québec, a great organization. In Honduras: a country that seems fascinating. With the opportunity to learn Spanish, live in Spanish and work in Spanish. Plus, it’s not too far from Montreal, which is a great advantage when it comes to the next point.

Q. Did you leave alone? How about your boyfriend?

A. Jason stayed in Montreal. Of course I’m sad to be away from him. He has been and is still very supportive of my decision. Thus it’s only normal that I need to be supportive of his life, his career and his choices. Luckily, with technology today, it’s easy to connect. Already, my first day in Honduras, I spoke with him via Skype and, for a moment, I thought I was still in Montreal. We will also be visiting each other as often as possible.

Q. Many of you may know that I am a runner and I also got into triathlon training. So I’ve gotten many questions like: 1) What kind of activities are you going to do? 2) Are you going to keep running? 3) Are you bringing your road bike?

A: 1) Not sure yet. We’ll see. 2) Not sure yet. We’ll see. 3) Hum…no.

Q. What did you bring in your luggage?

Packing for this trip was a real juggling act. The whole time I was trying to answer these questions: What can I live without? What would be essential that I can’t find over there? What is not essential but still nice to have to fight home-sickness? I’m not sure I was able to answer these questions very well. I guess I’ll have to see how things go in the next few weeks/months. What I did discover in the process is that I have a serious addiction to books and shoes. I might need to consult someone about that!

Talking about books, here’s what I’m reading this week:


Responses

  1. Salut Thida, nous t’admirons pour ta décision car par expérience Mo et moi savons que c’est pas évident de changer de chapitre dans son propre livre de vie !-) profite un max de cette belle aventure ! Ta famille et tes amis sont avec toi en pensée !-) bisous de nous 3, Li, Mo et Lo

    • Merci pour ce beau message. C’est très gentil. C’était aussi super sympa de se voir sur Skype aujourd’hui. Bisous xo

  2. Hi Thida, How wonderful you have embarked on this adventure! Thanks for telling me about it! My family was not too far from there around 2002 in Copan Ruinas! We went there and traveled to the mountain villages and played music for the children and handed out the vitamins, notebooks, etc. It was an amazing experience for us! I know you’ll meet extraordinary people on this trip! Good luck! Thanks for keeping us informed! Best, Minda

  3. Thida,
    it is a marvelous news that you are now working abroad! You finally achieve your dream. Have a wonderful and fruitful time there. This blog will be a very nice way to keep in touch with you.

    Hugs,
    astrid

  4. Hi Thida,

    Feliz cumpleanos!! I hope you had a wonderful day in your new home. I can’t wait to hear more, even if it means I have to read French ;-) Take care and enjoy every minute of your adventure!

    Besos,
    Doris

  5. Je serai une lectrice très fidèle de ton blog! Je pense à toi et j’ai déjà hâte de lire tes aventures, tes pensées, tes opinions et je me sens privilégiée de pouvoir suivre ton périple via ce blog. Donne-nous des nouvelles souvent!!! Mariana XXX

  6. Thank you everyone for your wonderful comments. C’est très gentil! Je suis très heureuse de pouvoir partager cette expérience sur ce blog. N’hésitez pas à vous inscrire par courriel directement sur le blog pour recevoir les mises à jour! Je pense à vous xox

  7. Hi Thida
    Thanks for sharing your blog and news of your travel we with me. I look forward to following your experiences in Honduras. Be safe and have a wonderful couple of years.

    Karen

  8. I was so excited to read your blog, Thida! Brings back great memories for me of volunteering to teach nutrition in the Caribbean many years ago. I’m curious about the banner at the top of your blog. Where is that picture taken? What’s your accommodation like? Hope you will tell us about a “typical day” in the life of Thida Curiosa. I admire your sense of adventure – can’t wait to hear more.
    Cheers, Lynda

    • Hi Lynda! The picture is from a restaurant not too far from my house, at the waterfront. I will post something new soon! Take care now xo

  9. Hey Thi !
    Good stuff ! write more ! :)

  10. Salut thida !
    WOW ! Quelle belle aventure et quel courage de tout laisser pour relever ce beau défi ! Ce sera avec plaisir et envie que je te lirai. Je t’envoie plein d’énergie et j’ai déjà hâte d’avoir d’autres nouvelles !
    À bientôt,
    Geneviève
    xxx


Leave a Reply

Categories

